Reading

I’ve been searching and searching my brain and heart as to what is next on my blog topic list.  It’s been 15 days, and still nothing.  When in actuality God has been telling me what to write for a while!  I just haven’t opened my heart to hear His answer.

I am excitedly a part of an amazing community called TEAM LIFE!  Through this leadership training I have learned MANY great principles of leadership.   The one that sticks with me the most is Laure Woodward’s famous quote “Leaders are readers”.  Why is this one the one that I can’t get out of my head? I think I finally let God in and He answered that question for me.  It is the next most important skill I need to excel at.

Reading is my ‘worst enemy’.  Since as long as I can remember, I’ve always hated reading.  I have some collage textbooks that were not cheap, still to this day wrapped in that clear plastic wrap.  Every beginning of each semester I’d tell myself, ‘This is the semester I am actually going to read all the books from my classes’.  Well guess what happened? Nothing.  Those books sat there, never opened. The only use they had was to collect dust!

Then I started this leadership business, and I started to fool myself again.  I’m going to read the top 5 books in 5 months- guess what happened after the 5 months? I had started 2 of the top five and didn’t finish any!  My mentors Holger Spiewak and Larry Allswede helped guide me how to read the right way.  Not just skimming the lines, but taking notes, highlighting important parts, doggy earring the major pages, etc.  This worked for a while! I actually got through the top 5 at least once! Whoo! What a defeat!

But then what happened when I had to take ownership of my reading?  Back to the old habits…. Facebook was the last thing I did before bed, just before that, I’d watch part of a movie, or tv show, etc… anything besides reading… It felt like a chore to open the book.

Then I’d hear the other famous quote from this time Terri Brady, “A habit truly becomes a habit after 30 days of doing it.  Miss one day and you have to start all over at day one.”  Ok, so let’s try that.  In the words of Tim Marks, “just 15 minutes a day”.  So I did that, 15 minutes every day I would read.  And lone behold, my thinking started to change, and my growth was outstanding! It worked! I was a better reader AND leader!!!

So how long did that last? Remember Terri Brady’s quote? “Miss one day, and you start at day one”.  And I guess I wanted to test that theory out.  One day turned into two, turned into a week.  Next thing I knew, I stopped reading again.

It has been on my mind all the time; it’s in all the teaching through LIFE, Bill, Holger and Larry.  Why can’t I keep up my reading? Why is it such a chore?  As Claude Hamilton says “The biggest lie in life, is that the price of success isn’t worth it”.  He also said “Sacrifice is nothing other than the production of sacred things”.  What does this mean? Basically What Claude is telling me is I need to buck up, forget my past failures and move on no matter what it takes, no matter what the cost is.  As I’ve heard Orrin Woodward say many times “go into the store of success, what’s the cost of success and PAY IT!”.

So here is my challenge to myself, and to you, my readers.  God has put it on my heart to help more people out there struggling with the same wall as I am, reading.  So I’m making a commitment to you, my readers.  I commit that at least once a week, I will write a blog post teaching you what I learned form my readings for that week.  I will not be reading a Twilight book, or a Harry Potter book.  I will be reading books that the top 1% leaders in the TEAM recommend to read.  Starting with the TOP 5 books, How I Raised Myself from Failure to Success in Selling, The Magic of Thinking Big, How to Have Power and Confidence in Dealing with People, How to win Friends and Influence People and Personality Plus.

My challenge to you is this; let’s do this together, as a TEAM.  After I post what I learned, I would love to hear your comments what you’ve learned from this same reading.  I think this will be great for everyone who wants to better their thinking and become better readers.  As Laure Woodward said, “Leaders are readers”.  So let get our reading on and start the process of becoming the BEST at reading!

With all my love to you!

God Bless,

Beth

First book: How I Raised Myself from Failure to Success in Selling (first 50 or so pages).  If you don’t have these top 5, I recommend grabbing them as fast as you can from your mentor or through LIFE.

This entry was posted in LIFE and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading

  1. Love this idea!
    I’ll be interested to join you in this challenge…

    TTD!!!
    -Jared

  2. Erin Brodhagen says:

    Can’t wait to go on this challenge with you!!!! So very proud of you and I know you can do it!!!!

Leave a Reply

