The Joys of Thanksgiving!

Hello to all my wonderful readers!! I welcome you to this grateful holiday!  What a great holiday to take the time to look at all your blessings and give thanks!

I know the history of Thanksgiving, where we all get to eat a huge meal and prepare for an early morning with crazed shoppers…. Oh not the modernized history that one thinks instantly when the word Thanksgiving is spoken… but the true meaning behind Thanksgiving.

Here is a great article from History.com about Thanksgiving.  I recommend you check it out to brush up on our Thanksgiving history, like I needed to!

I loved this article because It tells the story how when the pilgrims came over and landed in Massachusetts they were fighting the winter and with many contagious diseases that took about half of their passengers on the Mayflower ship  who came to the new world to start anew.  Once springtime came, Squanto, a member of the Pawtuxet tribe helped the pilgrims learn how to plant and grow food, how to collect berries/maple/etc.  Squanto ignored his tragic history of being captured and sold into slavery by the English, to where he escaped and got back to his home in the US.  He put that behind him and helped these English travelers to find food so they wouldn’t starve.  And after the first successful harvest of corn, the governor planned a celebratory feast, which we now call Thanksgiving.  Their celebration lasted for 3 days! There is a lot more to the story, so I urge you to read the article to get the full effect, but the pilgrims celebrated their thanks to the Indians who helped them in their time of need.  And we still today celebrate the coming together of man, no matter how different they may be. Although today many have forgotten the history behind this holiday, I urge you to remember who you are thankful to, or thankful for.

In a lot of ways the TEAM Leadership reminds me of these actions.  They go out every day fighting for others, no matter who they are, no matter where they reside, it doesn’t matter.  They are willing to sacrifice their lives to help others. This servant leadership is similar to Squanto’s, and I am thankful everyday that the TEAM Leadership, especially Holger and Lindsey Spiewak and Larry and Stacey Allswede, helped me in my time of need.

I am truly thankful first and foremost for my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  If it weren’t for His grace, I know I would not be here today; He saved me from my sins as He did yours too. All the glory goes to Him.  I am also very thankful for my family.  No matter what happens in life, I know they will be there for me, to pick me up, to laugh with me, to fight with me when I need it, to lead me, everything they are there for.  Their support is world class! Especially my parents.  I am so thankful my parents are still very happily married!  They are without a doubt a great example of a marriage I hope to one day have.  As many of you know, my family is one of the biggest motivators in my life.  I fight so hard even against myself so I can make sure they are taken care of.  Just thinking about them brings tears to my eyes. I know a lot of people think this, but I can tell you I have THE best family in the world! I would give anything for my family; I am so blessed to have them.

I am thankful for many, many things. A few of those are food, shelter, an income, a working car (for now!), clothes to wear, shoes on my feet, toothpaste, and most importantly… cable tv!! (haa just kidding on that last one!)

So this Thanksgiving, make sure not only do you get to eat a ton of great food with the people you love most, but also remember the reason be this grateful holiday! The courage one had to help others in their time of need! Let’s pass this blessing on and help others in their time of need! I’d love to hear your blessings and stories of traditions and how you’ve passed this blessing on!

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving everyone!!

God Bless

This entry was posted in LIFE. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

